Leadership TeamOperations TeamTeaching Staff

Leadership Team

Beda Martinez

Dean of Instruction

bmartinez@hiawathaacademies.org | Mobile: 612-361-8990

Beda Martinez was born and raised in a rust belt city in Wisconsin. She identifies as a low-income, first generation Chicana. Her passion for education equity comes from her own experiences as a student in public schools. She grew up experiencing two realities. One reality was that of many other low-income students of color, and the other was that of more affluent white families. This became abundantly clear when she transferred from the comfort of her neighborhood school to a less diverse elementary school. The schools were no more than a few miles apart but the expectations for students were vastly different. After triple majoring at the University of Wisconsin- Madison, Beda joined the teaching force and then became an instructional coach in Las Vegas. She went on to work in education policy and advocacy. Now, she will be returning to the school setting to serve as the founding Dean of Instruction for Hiawatha College Prep-Northrop. During her spare time, Beda enjoys playtime with Santiago, her son, and trying out new cuisines with her partner, Edwin. She is excited to call the Twin Cities home.

Kendra Kecker

Director of Operations

kkecker@hiawathaacademies.org

Matthew Freese

Dean of Students

mfreese@hiawathaacademies.org

Matthew Freese is the founding Dean of Students at HCP-N. While originally from the great state of Iowa, he attended Bethel University before moving to St. Louis, Missouri through Teach for America. There he spent four years as a middle school math teacher while focusing on equity, opportunity, and academic excellence. After completing a Master’s degree at Teacher’s College at Columbia University, he then transitioned into the role of Assistant Principal where he has served for the last two years. He is now moving back to the Twin Cities and is excited to be a part of the founding HCP-N team.

Sherene Judeh

Principal | Hiawatha College Prep-Northrop

sjudeh@hiawathaacademies.org | Mobile: 612-361-8990

Sherene Judeh has been a teacher, school administrator, and advocate for equity in education for over 12 years. She has taught and led in district and charter schools and seeks continuous improvement in service of high expectations, strong community, and strong achievement results for students. Sherene has experience in interdisciplinary learning. social-emotional learning, change management, arts integration, and restorative practices. Through research, collaboration, and design, Sherene has worked with several schools to transform academic programming into authentic, community centered learning experiences for students resulting in dramatically increased student achievement. As the Founding Principal of Hiawatha College Prep-Northrop, Sherene has been responsible for leading the research, development, piloting, and codification of the newest Hiawatha Academies school focused on equity, community and student agency.

Operations Team

Blanca Crespin

Naria Torres

Teaching Staff

Amanda Olson

Fifth Grade Science Teacher

aolson@hiawathaacademies.org

Dana Huseth

Fifth Grade Humanities Teacher

dhuseth@hiawathaacademies.org

Desiree Chavez

Fifth Grade Special Education

dchavez@hiawathaacademies.org

Gwendolyn Hurt

Fifth Grade Paraeducator

ghurt@hiawathaacademies.org

Hafsa Mohamud

Fifth Grade Math Teacher

hmohamud@hiawathaacademies.org

Jonny Lincoln

Physical Education Teacher

jlincoln@hiawathaacademies.org

Tom Krueger

Fifth Grade Humanities Teacher

Mobile: tkrueger@hiawathaacademies.org